University of the Basque Country

University of the Basque Country (UPV/EHU) is a teaching and research institution officially founded in 1980. The university employs over 7.500 people in 31 faculties and schools distributed in three different campuses, with more than 57.000 undergraduate and postgraduate students. The UPV/EHU offers the highest number of doctorate programmes of all Spanish universities, one third of which have received a mention of excellence from the Spanish Ministry of Education. The UPV/EHU has been recognised as an International Research Campus of Excellence by the Spanish Ministry of Science and Innovation (MICINN).

Since the first European Research Framework Programmes, the UPV/EHU has been very active and has participated in a wide variety of collaborative projects. In the 7th Framework Programme (2007-2013) the University of the Basque Country participated in 94 projects, of which it coordinated 22, amounting to more than 30 million Euros. In Horizon 2020 (2014-2020), the UPV/EHU has so far been successful with 108 projects that have already attracted a total sum of more than 31 million Euros in research and innovation financing, including 6 ERC grants, 2 of which are Advanced Grants, and 7 projects from the FET programme.

 In 2014 the University of the Basque Country (UPV/EHU) started to support Erasmus + Programmes. By the time it has been the beneficiary of 6 Jean Monnet, 19 KA2 Strategic Partnerships, 1 KA2 Knowledge Alliance, 4 KA2 Capacity Building, 1KA3 Support for policy reform and 2 Sports.